(English Translation of Notice of Resolutions of the 97th General Meeting of Shareholders)

June 23, 2021

Dear Shareholders:

Eiji Hashimoto Representative Director and President NIPPON STEEL CORPORATION (Code Number 5401) (the "Company") 6-1, Marunouchi 2-chome, Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo, Japan

Notice of Resolutions of the 97th General Meeting of Shareholders

We greatly appreciate our shareholders' continued support and also sincerely appreciate everyone who exercised their voting rights by postal voting, etc. at the 97th General Meeting of Shareholders held today.

We hereby announce that the matters outlined below were reported and resolved at the 97th General Meeting of Shareholders.

Matters reported to the shareholders:

Report on operations for the 96th term (from April 1, 2020 to March 31, 2021), consolidated financial statements and non-consolidated financial statements, and reports of accounting auditors and the Audit & Supervisory Committee on consolidated financial statements for the 96th term.

The particulars of the report on operations, consolidated financial statements and non-consolidated financial statements were reported. In addition, the reports of accounting auditors and the Audit & Supervisory Committee on consolidated financial statements were also reported. The 96th Term Report has been sent to shareholders without voting rights with this notice. Please refer to it.

Matters approved by the shareholders:

Item 1: Appropriation of Surplus for the 96th Term (from April 1, 2020 to March 31, 2021)

It was approved that 10 yen per share of common stock of the Company (total payment: 9,219,782,520 yen) be appropriated as proposed. The effective date of the dividend will be Thursday, June 24, 2021.

Item 2: Election of Eleven (11) Directors (Excluding Directors who are Audit & Supervisory Committee Members)

The proposal was approved and adopted as proposed. Eleven (11) Directors, namely, Kosei Shindo, Eiji Hashimoto, Shinichi Nakamura, Akio Migita, Shuhei Onoyama, Naoki Sato, Takahiro Mori, Tadashi Imai, Noriko Iki, Tetsuro Tomita, and Masato Kitera were elected and assumed office.